Scroll, Taranaki Mounted Volunteers 1860-1866

Production date
Sep 1902
Francis (Frank) Joseph Mace's "Taranaki Mounted Volunteers 1860-1866" scroll, dated September 1902 and signed by Thomas Mace and J.C. Davies. The scroll lists the names of its members and all the battles in which the troop took part as well as a brief history of the unit and some "breif despatches" quotes from various military men including Colonel Warre.

Members of troop listed: Captain Charles Deveaux, Captains F.J. Mace and Thomas McGuiness, Cornets R. Greenwood and William Johnson, Troop Sergeant-Major P. Wilson, Pay-Sergeant J.C. Davies, Sergeants R. Brown, John Johnson, James Bishop and Robert Wells, Corporals Charles Oliver, R.N. Keeling, Oliver Oxenham and William Brooking, Trumpeter T.E. Hamerton, Troopers Henry Arden, James Autridge, W. Atkins, George Bayley, William Blake, J.F. Badderly, William Batten, Ascot Bayly, Albert Bayly, Albert Bishop, William Bishop, William Bullott, Charles Bullott, Fred Bullott, E. Coad, Charles Curtis, William Curtis, W.K. Collins, F.H. Clemens, Martin H. Dignan, John Elliot, William Edgecombe, C.W. Foote, Harris Ford, Thomas Furlong, John Filewood Fitzgerald, F.U. Gledhill, William Giddy, R.W. Greenwood, E. Honeyfield, William Honeyfield, J.C. Honeyfield, T.C. Hammond, Joseph Hawke, William Hay, Arthur Harrison, Oliver Hoby, Richard Hoskin, Josias Hoskin, John Hoskin, George Hoby Hall, John Hamblyn, Henry Hunt, John Heywood, Henry Jury, William Jury, Stockley King, J.F. Knight, M. Laffan, G.Y. Lethbridge, R. Lethbridge, J.J. Looney, Thomas Langman, Thomas Mace, Henry Morrison, C. MacIntyre, J. Manning, Alex Marr, J. MacDougall Maunsell, Samuel Newall, Henry Newland, George Newland, William Newland, William Newsham, Francis Oliver, John Oxenham, William Oxenham, Patrick O'Neil, Edward Olsen, James Purse, Richard Piede, B.P. Perry, Henry Pearce, John Pepperell, A. Rodriquez, Samuel Reid, George Reade, John Reynolds, John Roberts, W.H. Roberts, R. Rundle senior, R. Rundle, J.R. Rushton, W. Rowe, Richard Rowe, Charles N. Rowe, William Seccombe, J.W. Sheppee, George Sampson, Richard Speck, Romulus Street, Thomas Scandlyn, O. Silcock, John Sarten, E.W. Stockman, Thomas Shaw, Frank Standish, George Standish, Thomas Sole, William Tatton, George Tatton, Thomas Titterton, Henry Turner, G. Tunnecliffe, David Ware, Fred Windsor, Thomas F. Walton, Samuel Wright, Edward Wright, David Wright, P.K. Watty, John Wilkinson, James Yems, H.T. Yates and Thomas Yuill.
See full details

Object detail

Production role
Production date
Sep 1902
Accession number
Collection type


My shortlist

Explore other objects by colour

Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.