"New Plymouth Old Boys' Surf Club"

Production date
Group portrait of eight members of the New Plymouth Old Boys' Surf Club, winners of the National Junior Six Man 1986-87 (William Henry Memorial Trophy) and the Otter-Walker-Smale Trophy. The team is posed outside in a beach setting amongst rocks, with Paritutu and the Sugar Loaf Islands visible in the background. There is a surf reel in front of the group in the centre. They are all wearing yellow swimming outfits except for the coach, who is wearing a yellow jacket. Standing in the back row from left is Ron Batten (Coach), Rhys Flavell and Bruce Caper. Sitting or kneeling in the water in front from left is Justin Van-De-Water (holding cup), Huib Buyck, Stewart Pratt, Tony Dew and Greg Wood (holding trophy). Six of the men also have medals around their necks. The photograph is mounted on beige card.
See full details

Object detail

Production role
Production date
Accession number
Collection type


My shortlist

Explore other objects by colour

Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.