1902 Senior Waimate Rugby Team

Copy of original formal group photograph of the 1902 Senior Team, Waimate Rugby Football Club (Manaia). The team came second in the Taranaki Championship, losing to Tukapa by a single point in a reply after the first final had been drawn. The team is arranged in three rows. From left in the back row is W. Slattery (President), W. Bigham, E. Bourke, E. Young, T. Cleland, C. Lusher (Secretary) and C. Hunger (Vice-President). From left in the middle row is J.S. McKay, W. Hill, W. Glenn, W. Christie (Captain, holding ball), R. Carrol, H. Vine and A. Riddle. Seated on the ground in the front row from left is J. Burke, H. Mellow, 'The Mascot' (wearing large frilled collar), W. Mellow and E. Burke. A banner is partially visible hanging in the background.
See full details

Object detail

Production role
Accession number
Collection type


My shortlist


Explore other objects by colour

Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.