Please do not reproduce without permission from Puke Ariki.
Contact for more information. Order images online here.

Object Detail

The Moturoa Association Football club.
Group of 16; 14 men in playing uniform and 2 men in suits. In front of the group is a large shield and 6 trophies: The Moturoa Association Football Club were the 1960 Taranaki Champions and went unbeaten for the 1960 season. They represented Taranaki in the Brown Shield (dating from 1892) winning the final against Poverty Bay 2-1. This was the first time the shield was held in Taranaki. They were semi-finalists in the North Island Chatham Cup in 1959 and finalists in 1960. They won the Duff Rose Bowl and the Julian Cup in 1959.
In the back row are: L. Polyanszky, G. Gregory, L. Varga, R. Dykes and A. Varga.
In second row are: L. Woolcott (Coach), G. Collett, J. Marshall, L. Humphries, H. Speck and H. Halder (Manager).
In the front row are: Royle Hutton, M. Fugett, A Evans (Captain), Herb Hutton and E. Meuli.
T. Verbeet and J. Ham are absent from the photo.
Primary Maker
Production Date
Primary Prod Period
Subject Person
Accession No


Can you help us? Click ‘Add Comment’ to share names, details and stories to help enrich the collection.

front row.. First man is Royle Hutton... 4th man front row is his brother Herb Hutton

- Gaewyn Putt

Posted on 19-12-2019 06:26:31

The Brown Shield in the centre. One of the oldest sporting awards in the world. 1892. Won by Moturoa in 1960 representing Taranaki. The first and only time the Brown Shield was held in Taranaki.

- Brian Goldby

Posted on 01-01-2020 21:06:51